updates

Since I have thus far failed in my promise to update this blog over the summer, I now present to you a feeble attempt at atoning for my unfulfilled words.

Currently reading: Shakespeare’s Hamlet. Next to read: Boethius’ Consolation of Philosophy, Kierkegaard’s Fear and Trembling, Walker Percy’s Lost in the Cosmos, G.K. Chesterton’s The Everlasting Man. Also working on Lonergan’s Verbum articles on the side.

Movies to watch: I have a copies of Brick and Fargo on my desk right now, waiting anxiously to be watched, screaming out for attention… in other words, I’m paying for a Netflix membership without using it often enough. Where’s all that free time I’m supposed to have for watching movies?…

Currently listening to: The Monitor by Titus Andronicus is still on repeat for me. Expect a review of that album to appear shortly. Others include High Violet by the National and in a lesser aspect This is Happening by LCD Soundsystem and Forgiveness Rock Record by Broken Social Scene.

Recent and upcoming shows: Saw Plants and Animals last weekend, opened by a decent local Boston band whose name I cannot remember and the folksy, bearded, string-laden Lost in the Trees (who, despite claiming they are from North Carolina, simply must be from Canada). Good show for the ten dollar admission, made all the better by the cozy confines of TT the Bear’s. Welcome to summer.

The big “show” on my horizon is the Pitchfork Music Festival in Chicago, whose schedule was just announced today. I will see, amongst other artists, Titus Andronicus, Panda Bear, LCD Soundsystem, Big Boi, Pavement. I also plan on seeing Titus in Connecticut the weekend of July 10 (might also get to catch them in Northampton. We shall see.)

Looking forward to: the Lonergan Conference, Sunday the 20th through Friday the 25th. Looks like some excellent papers will be given, including from Doran, S.J., McCarthy, and Byrne. The big guns will be in the house. Expect a review of this as well.

Also looking forward to the Jesuit Mission Band’s Hearts on Fire “retreat” the same weekend that I am in Chicago for the P4K fest. This event shall also be reviewed. Oh modern Michael, recording everything, documenting all of existence… Remember that Ted Leo song… *end talking to myself*.

Will post something more substantial on this here weblog shortly. Pax.

This entry was posted in utterances. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

