st. john eudes

Today is the feast day of one of my favorite saints, John Eudes.

To be honest, I can’t really say why he is one of my favorite saints. The fact that he is a saint is balla enough, true, but what is it exactly that attracts me to this man’s intercession and life?

I can think of one reason, and that’s his popularization of the devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus (perhaps my personal fave) and the Immaculate Heart of Mary.

From the Saint of the Day email I receive: “He shared with St. Mary Margaret Alacoque the honor of initiating devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus (he composed the Mass for the Sacred Heart in 1668) and the Holy Heart of Mary, popularizing the devotions with his “The Devotion to the Adorable Heart of Jesus” (1670) and “The Admirable Heart of the Most Holy Mother of God”, which he finished a month before his death at Caen on August 19th.”

N.B. I am also inexplicably a huge fan of Mary Margaret Alacoque. It’s gotta be the Sacred Heart devotion.

If I have the time today to look up anymore information on St. John, I shall post it here. For now, St. John Eudes, ora pro nobis!

This entry was posted in faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

