swear this isn’t gratuitous posting

I only put forth my fourth post of the last hour and a half because somehow I missed the Browns naming their new head coach. Over a week ago.

Man, my head really must have been in a cloud.

So, Pat Shurmur. Never heard of the guy before. Reports are he was most recently offensive coordinator for the Rams. They didn’t do all that bad recently, considering they had a very green aka rookie QB and virtually no wideouts (oh, where hast thou gone, Torry Holt and Issac Bruce?). I guess Bradford threw for the second-most yards ever for a rookie QB, behind only this guy named Peyton Manning. I’d like to see what Shurmur can do for Bradford’s draft-mate Colt McCoy. Of course, Colt has the same problem as Sam – not a ball-catching receiver to be seen for miles. Although I just complained about how the Brownies could use some good old fashioned run and defense, maybe a wide receiver who can make a play wouldn’t hurt too.

Thankfully the plea for defense was heard, as the Brownies just hired Dick Jauron as their D-coordinator. I remember him from my Madden days back at the beginning of the Oh’s, and I have every confidence that he will bring the Browns to perform as well defensively as he did the computerized version of the Bears in Madden 2004 (or ’02-’03, one of those years).

Two irresistible quotes from the Browns’ article that I have to pull out. First:

It’s an honor and a privilege to join an organization with such a rich history and tradition as the Cleveland Browns.

The Drive, the Fumble, Red Right 88… welcome, Pat!

Second:

I am looking forward to this challenge and can’t wait to get started in helping to build the Browns back to one of the elite teams in the NFL.

It’s been… awhile, Pat, awhile. (Like, pre-Super Bowl era.) Please, please, please follow through.

This entry was posted in utterances. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

