The Theology classroom

Part of the Alumni Discernment & Volunteer Program is the opportunity for us young alums to get our feet wet in areas we’d like to get involved with in the future. As I’ve mentioned before, my desire is to teach theology to young men (and women, as the situation dictates). I’m lucky to have the chance to sit in & observe two excellent models of such teaching during this year of discernment.

Pat Gilday SJ and Tom Healey ’77 have been generous enough to allow me to sit in on their seventh and eighth period classes, respectively, ever since the beginning of second quarter three weeks ago. Each is a different yet effective communicator of the queen of the sciences. Pat, a young Jesuit at the regency stage of his formation, seems to have a more “inductive,” question-driven classroom style, that builds accountability and a great rapport with the boys. Tom, a seasoned vet of the department of 31 years, is extremely high energy, a jokester, and a “master of interaction with the kids,” as quoted by a fellow SIHS community member.

It’s been interesting to sit in on each’s classes for a few weeks. Already I have learned a lot, simply by being back in the classrooms I myself once inhabited, seeing how the students work and how their educators work their way through the material each day. I’ve already found myself saying many times, “I never thought of handling that in this way” or “I wouldn’t do that in the same way myself.” All great fodder for thinking up my own classroom scheme, hopefully sometime in the not too far away future.

About Michael Williams

Ardent greater Clevelander. Brewing industry laborer. Future Theology teacher. Truth seeker. Beloved adopted son of the Father thru JC in the Spirit.
This entry was posted in ADVP, philosophy, religion, theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

